Book Worm

A lazy Sunday afternoon. Nothing better than curling up with a book. And if it’s a brand new book…a crisp brand new book..then nothing can beat the happy feeling that comes with it.

I use a smart phone as well as a laptop. Am quite tech savvy. And while I feel blessed to have the boon of technology to keep in touch with my near and dear ones and the high which real-time communication gives me, I still prefer to read a book rather than an e-book.

To me buying a book isn’t only about going to a bookstore and buying a book. I have to like the look of a book, the font and the font size. And yes, the way the book smells. I actually burrow my nose in a book before buying it. And I think those of you out there who are book lovers know exactly what I am talking about.

20150809_182032

I still have the books which were gifted to me in kindergarten. Slightly grubby but well-preserved. Each and every line known. One can tell which are my favourite ones by the way the pages show wear. These are the ones I have reread many times over the years. People who are not really in love with books can never understand how one can reread a book.

But I have my favourites. Not only because of the stories they carry but also because each time I have reread them I have read a new version. Because along with time I have not remained the same ‘me’ and my perspective has changed. So each time I have found a new gem.

2 thoughts on “Book Worm

  1. Deeba Faizan says:

    a wonderful…piece….and especially…for those who share the same passion for books…reminds me of Gulzar sahab…ki kitaabey na ho toh…kitabey…lene dene…aur …girney uthaney ke silsilay me jo rishtey buntey they unka…kya?and what about those dried flowers n notes left in the books that when encountered accidentally open up an innumerable streams of memory…!

  2. Juthika says:

    I read somewhere that one must read a book at least thrice, once in adolescence, then in middle age and finally in retirement!

Leave a Reply

